THE HARRISON HOUSE
MUSEUM & BARN
124 Main Street, Branford
Saturdays, 2:00-5:00 p.m., June to September
or by appointment.
Admission Free. Donations Suggested
Stepping into the Harrison House is like stepping into another world.
The old wood of the walls, the hand-hewn oak corner posts, the chamfered
summer beams and exposed joists create an atmosphere of antiquity. The
unique corner cupboard and huge hall fireplace are products of two hundred
and fifty years ago. The furnishings of four-poster and rope beds, the
bedspread, made by a Linsley ancestor for her dowry, the seventeenth century
chests of Branford origin, the beehive bake oven, warming pans, foot stoves
and old china all lend the charm of the olden days.
Built by Nathaniel Harrison in 1724 as a "two over two" house and occupied
by his family and descendants until 1800, the house was then taken over
by Linsleys who with their descendants lived here until 1938. In that
year J. Frederick Kelly, prominent architectural historian, bought the
Harrison House and painstakingly restored it to its original condition.
The house is now owned by the Society for the Preservation of New England
Antiquities (SPNEA) and is also a recorded property on The National Register
of Historic Places.
One of the rooms in the Harrison House is set aside as a museum for Branford
artifacts, memorabilia and archives. Branford families are encouraged
to bring their ancestral records, products, pictures and collections for
exhibits which are held periodically. The society is dedicated to discovering,
preserving and showing Branford's heritage. Contributing a copy of your
family's history and articles of historical value is encouraged.
The Branford Historical Society maintains The Harrison House and its barn
set on two lovely acres of land. A fine herb and colonial garden is tended
by the Branford Garden Club. We welcome new members who will share our
effort and joy in keeping alive this symbol of Branford's past.